.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

A powerful novel with an unforgettable voice, perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur,  The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One.


Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.


But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.


Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.


A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written, this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie.


ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. 



Rs1,990.00
Tax included
Quantity:

Product description

Review

I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.', Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.', Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone'‘Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer’', Guardian'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart', Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains'The force and intensity behind her words practically pushes them off the page, resulting in a verse novel that is felt as much as it is heard. This is a book from the heart, and for the heart.', New York Times Book Review'First I read #ThePoetX. Now I'm listening to the audio read by @AcevedoWrites. Happy I don't have to choose between brilliances', Jacqueline Woodson, multiple award-winning author of If You Come Softly and Brown Girl Dreaming'Acevedo breathes words instead of air', Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Paper Butterflies

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ 140529146X
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Egmont (1 May 2018)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 9781405291460
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1405291460
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 12 - 16 years
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 310 g
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.9 x 2.5 x 19.8 cm
M320

Specific References